Ten years ago we discovered that both my husband and daughter can not eat wheat or any of the grains with gluten. We were at a loss. Many of the foods in our pantry were processed and most of the things in our cupboard had gluten. Soups, noodles, crackers, cereal, condiments all had gluten.We had a small box of pearled barley for soup, rye flour and some spelt flour (an ancient wheat) for making bread, whole wheat flour and some white rice also. The rice was one of the only things that could stay.
This discovery led us into a whole new world of food that we never even knew existed. There are many grains to choose from. There are many varieties of wheat and alternatives to wheat are much more common and available today than they were 10 years ago. Following are two lists of grains. The first is a list of grains with gluten. The second is a list of gluten-free grains. Included are some seeds/fruits that may not officially share the title of grain, but are used as grains in the diet. Each of these grains has several varieties that we’ll discuss in future posts.
Grains With Gluten
One way to increase the diversity in your diet is by experimenting with all these different grains. Stay tuned for more detailed information on each grain in coming posts.
If you know of a grain that we missed please let us know in the comments below.